Various Scenic Pictures of Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island: Recreational Attractions, Kensington

Kensington was long known as “Five Lanes End” as it was the hub of five roads from Charlottetown, Mill Valley, Summerside, Malpeque, and Margate. In 1862, it was named Kensington and was incorporated in 1914.

The laying of the railroad tracks through Kensington in 1873 brought about an influx of new residents and businesses and the Old Stone Station still stands as a monument to this important institution to the community.

Today, Kensington remains the commercial and service centre for the surrounding farming and fishing communities between Malpeque Bay to the west and New London Bay to the East.